Posted in Korean

Geocheonjeol or National Foundation Day

October 3rd is a public holiday in Korea to celebrate the legendary foundation of Koreas oldest and first state Gojoseon. Similar to other national holidays, fireworks are set off in celebration.

Althougo modern Republic of Korea is young, ancient Korean history stretches back more than 4000 years and legend says it’s starts with a story about founding father Emperor Dangun. However, it really begins with Hwanung, son of Hwanin, a god who lived in the heavens. You can find my short summary of the myth below.

During the pandemic I was lucky enough to be able to attend the Kpop Academy as it was offered online due to quarantine, I would never have been able to attend an in real life academy so I am very honoured to she been able to attend online. One of the weeks lessons was all about the history of Korea and we learnt about Dangun and the bear and tiger. For my homework, I made a presentation on the history with my own little artworks and story telling and you can see it below. I hope you enjoy it!

Happy National Foundation Day to all Koreans around the world 😍

See you soon Sopey 🦋

Leave a comment